NEET eligibility criteria has been prescribed by the National Testing Agency in accordance with the Indian Medical Council Act-1956 and the Dentists Act-1948 as amended in 2018. The National Eligibility cum Entrance Test (NEET) is an entrance test conducted for admission to various medical and allied courses, including MBBS, BDS and AYUSH. Thus, the eligibility criteria of NEET sets up a basic minimum qualification of a candidate to apply for the said courses. NTA has removed the upper age limit clause from NEET eligibility criteria thus enabling aspirants older than 25 years to apply for it. The cap on the number of attempts has also been removed from the eligibility criteria of NEET. All those who wish to apply for this national entrance test were advised to check their eligibility before filling the NEET application form . Candidates who do not take the NEET eligibility criteria seriously, if found ineligible, may have to face severe consequences such as cancellation of their admission.

Medical Courses


Apply now for Admission of Above Degree.

Enter Your Last Qualification
Choose Last Qualified Degree Year.
Enter Your Marks of Last Qualification
If You are Qualified a NEET, then Enter your NEET Number. or not qualified then Enter "0"
Choose your Favorite Medical Courses for Admission. Which will cause your future Success.

Candidates appearing for NEET can also refer to this article to know the eligibility criteria. NTA is not likely to change the NEET eligibility criteria for the students appearing next year. Candidates must, however, note that the decision for removing the cap on the upper age limit of NEET aspirants is still pending in the Supreme Court of India. Candidates older than 25 years of age must fill the application form of NEET at their own risk, taking into consideration the fact that the verdict of the apex court will determine their eligibility.

Basic NEET Eligibility Criteria

  1. Candidate must have attained the age of 17 years at the time of admission or will attain the same by December 31.
  2. There is no upper age limit to appear for NEET. The clause had been challenged in the High Court of Delhi and the verdict is pending
  3. Candidates older than 25 years of age can appear for NEET 2021 provisionally
  4. Indian nationals/ Overseas Citizens of India (OCIs) who wish to pursue MBBS/ BDS from a foreign university also have to qualify NEET.

Eligibility criteria of NEET : Qualifying Marks

  1. Candidates must have passed in Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English individually in the qualifying examination.
  2. Candidates belonging to the general category must have scored a minimum of 50% in the qualifying examination.
  3. Candidates belonging to Scheduled Caste/ Scheduled Tribes/ Other Backward should have a minimum score of 40% in the qualifying examination.
  4. Candidates who belong to the General category and are applying under the Persons with Disability (PWD) Quota, must have a minimum score of 45% marks in the qualifying examination.

Minimum Qualifying Marks as per NEET Eligibility Criteria

Category Minimum aggregate in the qualifying examination (PCB)
General 50%
General - PWD 45%
SC/ ST/ OBC/ Reserved-PWD 40%

NEET Eligibility Criteria – Number of Attempts

The maximum number of attempts for the NEET has not been directed by the NTA. Thus, allowing a candidate to appear for NEET as many times as they want to.

NEET Eligibility Criteria 2021 for Candidates Belonging to the UT of J&K/ Ladakh

Candidates belonging to the UT of J&K/ Ladakh are not eligible to apply for the 15% All India Quota seats and can only apply for the seats of Deemed Universities, ESIC and AFMC.

NEET Eligibility Criteria for Candidates Applying for State/ Deemed/ Central/ ESIC/ AFMC Seats

  1. Indian Nationals, NRIs, OCIs and PIOs are eligible to apply for these seats
  2. Foreign nationals should confirm their eligibility before applying for NEET

NEET Eligibility Criteria for Candidates Applying for 15% All India Quota Seats

Indian Nationals, NRIs, OCIs, PIOs and foreign nationals are eligible to apply for these seats

NEET Eligibility Criteria for Central Universities 

Delhi University (MAMC, LHMC, UCMS): Like all other universities, only 15 per cent seats of the colleges affiliated with the Delhi University will be filled through NEET 2020 counselling. The remaining 85 per cent seats will be filled via DU NEET counselling 2020. Candidates who have passed Class 11 and Class 12 from an institute located in Delhi will be able to apply for these 85 per cent seats.

Faculty of Dentistry, Jamia Millia Islamia: The institute offers 50 BDS seats, out of which 47 seats will be filled through the MCC NEET counselling 2020. The remaining three seats fall under the institutional quota and will be allotted to only those candidates who had passed Class 11 and Class 12 from JMI.

Aligarh Muslim University (AMU): The institute reserves 50 per cent of its seats for candidates who have studied in AMU for the past three years. Only such candidates will be able to apply for the institutional quota seats of AMU. The remaining 50 per cent will be filled through the MCC counselling of NEET 2020.

Banaras Hindu University (BHU): All candidates who fulfil the basic eligibility criteria for NEET MCC counselling can apply for the seats at BHU. There is no special requirement for applying to this institute.

NEET Eligibility Criteria : Qualifying Examination Codes

Code Description
Code 01
  • The candidate is appearing in the qualifying examination or awaiting the result of the qualifying examination.
  • He/ she has to submit the result of the qualifying examination in the first round of counselling.
Code 02
  • Candidate has qualified Class 12 or equivalent in the year 2019 or before.
  • He/ she has not pursued any other course after the completion of Class 12.
Code 03 Candidate has completed Intermediate/Pre-degree Examination in Science with Physics, Chemistry, Biology/Biotechnology and English.


Candidate has completed the qualifying examination equivalent to Class 12 completed from a state board.

Code 04
  • Candidate has completed a Pre-professional/Pre-medical Examination.
  • He/ she has also completed Higher Secondary Examination/ Pre-University/ equivalent examination with English, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology/Biotechnology.
Code 05 The candidate is enrolled in a three year degree course with English, Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology and has cleared the first year including practical tests.
Code 06
  • Candidate has qualified BSc from a recognized University with two or more of the following subjects: Physics, Chemistry, Biology (Botany, Zoology)/Bio-technology.
  • He/ she must have passed Class 12 with English, Physics, Chemistry, and Biology.
Code 07 Candidate has passed an examination which is equivalent to the Intermediate Science Examination with English, Physics, Chemistry and Biology/Biotechnology.


Candidate has completed the qualifying examination from a foreign University

Important FAQs Regarding NEET

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *